Tell me your postnatal anxiety stories?

I had my baby! He is beautiful and called Jack Daithí and also possibly Cantona if Robert decides to settle on that.

Unfortunately, I’m in the grip of severe postnatal anxiety. I’m with the crisis team and taking pretty much the maximum dose of aripiprazole and also diazepam and zopiclone.

This isn’t how I hoped these days would be. I can literally not imagine ever feeling normal and myself again at the moment. Please tell me your survival tales of postnatal anxiety?

4 Responses

  1. Congratulations on baby Jack! The thing about Postnatal Depression (or even PN psychosis). Is that it passes! Diazepam can be v. helpful. My wife had a bad reaction to aripiprazole, but everybody is different. Best wishes to you all

  2. I can add that the daughter to whom my wife gave birth before the Post Natal Psychosis is now a happy, heathy young woman with a teenage child of her own and we are proud grand-parents. The bad times will pass quite soon!

  3. Congratulations!!

What say you? Comment here!