I’m on All In the Mind, BBC Radio 4, tonight at 9pm

Hello chaps, a heads up that if you couldn’t get enough of my perplexed Belfast tones on the Rethink advert below, you can hear them briefly talk a little about returning to work and a tiny bit on being a mental-mental nurse on BBC Radio 4’s, “All In the Mind” tonight at 9pm. Here’s a link! You can listen live or it’ll be available afterwards on BBC iPlayer.

My rambling aside, tonight sounds like a very interesting programme that I’d have listened to anyway!

Claudia Hammond explores the implications from the latest developments in neuroscience for the legal process and asks what kind of new brain based information might be submissible as evidence in court? Claudia will explore the ethical issues raised by the possibility of predicting criminal behaviour and asks what our rapidly increased understanding of how the brain works will mean for how we understand decision-making, free will, and systems of punishment.

Was quite exciting to be in a radio studio again, I really enjoy it. The biggest one I was ever in was the Birmingham studio for Dos and Don’ts, where I discovered they had actual stairs with different materials on for sound effects. I wish things personally hadn’t been so rubbish at that moment so I could have enjoyed it more, but I was stupidly and rather naively mind blown that they used STUFF for sound effects. It’s all digital now! I’m even writing this to you digitally and not on a piece of palm leaf with a stunned octopus like they did back when I was a child in the eighties.

Do excuse the relative quietness here! I have a gigantic bit about suicide and Last Offices to post. I have been thinking a lot about it since my After Death Care class, but as it is an emotionally exhausting topic to write about, I have been writing about it in little bits. It’s also exam season for me and my energy (and my bowels) have been largely focused on that. Hooray!

Anyway, it would be great if you listen tonight, and if you do, let me know what you think!

2 Responses

  1. iplayer is excellent, good to listen to your interview.

  2. My brother suggested I would possibly like this blog. He used to be entirely right. This publish truly made my day. You cann’t consider just how much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

What say you? Comment here!

