So then, a Mentalist Update!

Well, if it’s here and some old readers may return, I shall give you a brief Mental Health Update!

I am fine, as I was when I last wrote to you, and I continue to be fine. A few stress/panic episodes which were absolutely understandable aside (first proper full time job non-dossing non-writing job in 4 years! College! etc!), I have been stable for quite a long time now! My last bout with the devil was in September last year. And I kicked its arse! Bastard.

I currently have a full time job, I’m trying to finish 2 essays before Monday and, that done, I shall hopefully receive my hallowed Certificate of Higher Education! Hooray! I may indeed be YOUR future mental health nurse. I absolutely promise not to be a total bell-end. If I ever recommend a nice cup of tea and a bath then you have my permission to kick me out of your house and into traffic.

I’m no longer taking any medication. That’s a new development- I stopped it two weeks ago. The first week was horrific insomnia, tearfulness and ARGH ITCHING, but this week has been fine, thanks to a ton of antihistamines and melatonin. To fall asleep- not to be bludgeoned into its submission- is a wonderful thing. I have not gone a bit weird, as feared. Sleep, as I thought, seems to be the absolute crux of me staying well and groovy. However, I’ve run out of melatonin, so I may be stripping to my knickers and firing the rest of my togs out the window yet.

I’m seeing my GP in just over a week to discuss long term, non-sedating medication. But honestly, if I continue to be alright as I am, I think I’ll say nay bother. The downside is, I’m pretty sure I have developed diabetes. So I need to mention that. Thanks, Seroquel!

Robert and I are still together and still very happy.

Life is good. And thus I have very little to write about on this blog!

Will you see at the Other Place!

10 Responses

  1. Brilliant to read.😀

  2. Really pleased hun, long may it continue and hope stability continues so you can stay firmly on the other side of services. x

  3. Yay. Yay to your post and yay to how life is going for you right now.🙂

  4. Nice to see that you and Citizen Smith are doing well.
    I had set my heart on being the first person to be cured of mental illness and quite liked the idea of being paraded around by psychiatrists to justify the last hundred years.
    This is very depressing, my one and ony chance to escape obscurity.

  5. What a lovely read this is!

  6. […] to how much Seroquel has inhibited her at work in the mornings (and she has, as a consequence, withdrawn from […]

  7. Seaneen,
    I was wondering if you had seen this article about research that claims to have identified a genetic test that may identify if a patient is susceptible to schizophrenia.
    http://www.dailyrx.com/news-article/genetic-clues-point-schizophrenic-disorder-14519.html
    “Our results not only open the door to a better understanding of schizophrenia,” Dr. Rouleau said, “they also give us valuable information about the molecular mechanisms involved in human brain development and function.”
    Really great to hear you are making such great headway!

  8. I am happy for you!

    Continue with that brilliant progress. I wonder if you have done counselling lately? It really helped me out even in the last vestiges of my depression. I hope this link would help. All the best for you and your journey.

  9. You’ve posted twice in July and once in August. I wonder how going off prescriptions is going?

  10. […] Well, if it’s here and some old readers may return, I shall give you a brief Mental Health Update! I am fine, as I was when I last wrote to you, and I continue to be fine. A few stress/panic episodes which were absolutely understandable aside (first proper full time job non-dossing non-writing job in […] Read More […]

What say you? Comment here!

