Stand Up

I want to do more stand up!  I’m quite sad the shenanigans with Company Paridiso have ended.

As nervewracking as I find it, and as much as I bite my fist when I see the photos, I really enjoy it.  I like jumping around and making people laugh.  It’s especially nice to make them laugh guiltily.  And I like meeting other people who perform.  Even if I’m bollocks at it, it’s worth it for the experience.  (The experience of half a room staring blankly at me, too).  I like pushing myself to do these things.  I may be a socially anxious little sod but getting up in front of people is a good way to help such things.

I might write a little thirty minute thing and then- well, then what?  What do you do with these things?  I have no idea!  Open mic things?

This was my first ever go at it.  I have done it approximately- well, exactly, of course, unless you count me on a train- one more time.

17 Responses

  1. I read autobiographies by comedians, any I can find, and it seems that most start off by doing the 5 minute sets at the end of the nite at comedy clubs locally, it seems you can just sign up on the nite and go on.
    Jack Dee talks a lot about doing this in London. Also it gives experience and helps you learn to ‘read’ the audiences.
    Most comedians rely on life experience for their comedy. It means they don’t forget the story so easily and can just have a few notes on stage.
    Apparently some good put downs learned beforehand for hecklers is a good plan, and thick skin where drunken insults are concerned. Peter Kaye still gets incredibly nervous before every gig he says. He started off entering a comedy competition. Perhaps there is such a thing locally?
    I think you’d be great by the way. I read your blog and find it engaging, heartfelt and funny. When I read things from comedians I can hear there voice saying it in my head (if that makes sense) complete with accent.
    Good luck!

  2. brilliant! (needed a pmsl moment, just back from visit to psych clutching script for 300 Seroquel) your rules are painfully accurate, have you thought of devising and scripting the mentalist version of DOA? http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00vl3sk/DOA/

  3. I’d love to see you do stand up in the flesh. I bet you’re amazing.

    I think you should really go for it. I think doing open-mic slots is a great way to get started and there must be loads of places you can get started, especially as you’re in London. I know of a couple in Manchester, but not sure about where you are.

    My ex was on the scene for a while, but I’m not sure what he’s up to these days. He seems to have disappeared from the face of the internet lately. He started with badgering comedy places for short sets or taking part in open mic nights and competitions.

  4. Great stuff, been chuckling away here! And the .. be prepared for nothing to happen at the end of an appointment – so true!!
    Here’s a nice friendly little pub in Greenwich -does open mic on a Friday – a variety of stuff. Think you can just show up to perform but it might be an idea to check if you need your name on a list or something.
    http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/pages/Friday-Mic-The-Star-Garter-Greenwich-London/126305884046572

    xx

  5. And for some reason that bloody link isn’t working! But their facebook page is called – Friday Mic @ The Star & Garter, Greenwich, London

    address is 60 Old Woolwich Road/Greenwich Park Street, Greenwich, London

    x

  6. That is wonderful! So proud of you Seaneen.🙂

  7. That was fucking amazing. Congrats.

  8. The silly little university comedy nights I run are open to you all the time🙂
    Seriously though, go for it. It’s brilliant when it goes well, and if it doesn’t then you never have to do it again. If you bring a couple of friends along they’ll cheer you on regardless. You’d be splendid.

  9. Comedy is a funny business. I must admit that I didnt find the list funny but that might be that I have experienced the worst of what the MH has to offer and im guessing that people that have been through a car windscreens dont find car crash observations funny.
    I did listen to the laughter on the soundtrack and its the sort of polite well meaning laughter that Ive only witnessed in theatres. A group fake orgasm.
    Im not trying to be bastard I just dont think that this type of humour works in this situation.
    However, there is a lot of humour in mental illness and one of the best loved films ever was One flew over the cuckoos nest.If I could write I would have a go at an update.

    • I’ve sent an email to the address you use here. If it isn’t your address, could you please email me? I’d like to talk to you.

      • Im sorry about the email address. Im too embarrassed to use my real address its an unfortunate combination of letters and numbers,In time psychiatrists will the condition a name and prescribe a cure but for the moment I am on my own.
        What do you want to say? How angry are you on a scale of 1 to 10 with 1 being quite angry and 10 being very angry.

  10. Great stuff… I got to try my hand at stand-up this past May at the DBSA convention, Stand-Up for Mental Health Comedy night… I was so nervous too… I wrote the joke the night before… I loved it and I think I might work out the bugs and go to a local club and test it out…

    Thanks for the laughs.

  11. Nicely done! This was great. Keep it coming.

  12. Fantastic… really made me smile!🙂

  13. Seaneen

    That’s fabulous.

    I LOVE doing open mic (despite being a mental myself) as it’s a great way to get my mental out.

    You looked totally comfortable up there – good for you.

    John

What say you? Comment here!

