@Nadine Dorries

Lots of people have come up with more eloquent responses to this:

I will post my article in Iain Dale’s book shortly, with his permission. In the article, in which I very clearly define the reasons why MPs should not blog or Twitter (yes, I know ) I mention someone who has posted 22,000 tweets in four months.
Today, someone has emailed my office with the details of a political/personal Tweeter who has posted 35,000 tweets in a similar amount of time.
I’m going to have to set up a Twitter account again so that I can check this out for myself!… Not.
Is there such a thing as Twitter addiction? How can anyone live a normal life who can do that? Surely these people cannot be in employment because if they are, how can they work? if they aren’t then it’s time they got a job which involves being sat at a key board because there’s nothing much up with their fingers, brain or attention span!!
I wonder if very soon someone is going to identify a Twitter syndrome and we get to read about people who have become compulsive Tweeters. Will we hear stories of people who Tweet, oh I don’t know, say 50 times a day and need to go into re-hab?
I will put money on that being a Daily Mail story one day. In the meantime, do you know of anyone else who has Tweeted more than 35,000 times in less than six months? If so, email my office and let me know. Or, better still, if it’s someone you know is on benefits, contact the DWP.”

It’s a storm in an eggcup, but it’s not far off the kindly views held by many, including, it seems, ATOS.  Which is why people who are coming up for ESA appeals are bringing suicide kits with them and fearing homelessness and fucking ruin for what is pocket money for people like you.

I could have written that tweeting and working aren’t the same thing: just ask many an irate boss. Or that, as a blogger on benefits with mental health problems, writing here has actively helped me to get better.  Or that without the internet, there are times in which my human interaction would be largely limited to Robert, my cats and my social worker.

But I can’t be bothered because, honest to dogs, you get so sick of having to fight your corner. So, in summary:

Go fuck yourself!

Lots of love,

Photobucket

24 Responses

  1. Best response I’ve seen so far and I’ve seen some good uns!

  2. What a top photo!!🙂

  3. Having just spent most of the afternoon commenting (on the Independent’s website) on IDS’ suspiciously nebulous proposals to ‘reform’ the benefits system, no doubt I should hand my ESA back forthwith.

  4. i (and boobs) agree with titflasher🙂

  5. Compulsive twitter syndrome… yes, could be one more for the list of psychiatric conditions. Bet the pharmaceutical companies are developing a new drug for it as we speak. Great photo, ‘Twitter to the hand cos the face aint listening!’

  6. first comment so can i just say how amazing your blog is, ♡ your humor, brutal honesty, style and taste in music (and james randi).
    also well done &fucking amazing that you’re getting into nursing. go girl!

    gona go and post 100.000 tweets now while frothing at the mouth and masturbating frantically to the divine david.
    textbook symptoms of tweeterotomania? nurse, hand me the sledgehammer… erm…

    uh yeah while i m at it:
    does seroquel give anyone else a) difficulty in finding words b) spots and c) a heightened longing for grapefruit juice?

    keep on rocking seaneen xxx

  7. Well said – mental health, like my disability (deafness), is invisible to many and ignored by most. You, however, are all too aware of its consequences. More power to your blog x

  8. There’s a good response in the Guardian to Dorries’ comments.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2010/oct/01/twitter-benefit-cheat-nadine-dorries

    Although “go fuck yourself” is concise and to the point.

  9. […] signing off, though, may I just echo @miss_seaneen‘s particular sentiment as extended to Ms […]

  10. Pity the fool.

    HOWEVER,

    Pity the fools who elected the fool.

  11. I hear you there. When I was having more serious ‘mental troubles’ as I call it, there was no internet (ah the 1990s)….
    Now we can all help each other out.

  12. Seriously, is anyone prepared to own up to electing this woman to office?

  13. didn’t anyone like mine?

  14. has she gone yet? I’m worried.

  15. she envies you
    cos everybody woves mew
    why can’t efurrybody wuff her too

  16. http://twitter.com/nadine_mp

    Maybe she needs welcoming…..

  17. I am new to your blog and am finding reading it is helping me feel a bit brighter. Thankyou

What say you? Comment here!

