Talking about mental health and humour on BBC Radio Berkshire

Do you want to listen to me ramble about the mental health system, humour, people with marmalade on their faces and then completely going blank and saying, “Um” a lot on BBC Radio Berkshire?  Of course you do!  Skip forward two hours:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/p007y7gh/Andrew_Peach_26_05_2010/

This was part of Berkshire’s mental health week, which was also part of the comedy night.  You can listen again to Monday and Tuesday’s segments on the website; tomorrow’s, if you like, is about friends and family.  Today it was me, warm-voice lovely occupational therapist James and huge-laughed want-to-curl-up-in-her-pocket she’s so friendly Polly talking about the mental health system.  Have a listen, should you want to.  Should you not want to GET OUT OF MY HOUSE.

I’m really glad I was involved. I also met a ginger cat at Reading station. A very urbanised ginger cat. And Paddington needs to stop having brass knobs in the floor that look like £2 coins to people who are tired, broke and not wearing their glasses so that I don’t bend down, try to scrape it up and then get kneed in the arse and knocked into an escalator at rush hour. In my defence, I was dying for a drink of something and didn’t have any cash on me.

Because I have no idea how to end this entry, here’s an artists’ impression of the ginger cat.

The scene outside the station today. That is me, in the nude, and that is the concourse of Reading station. With a sombrero.

5 Responses

  1. Are you sure that’s not a fox? x

  2. I’ve always wanted to live on a houseboat! A british one, not an Australian one, cause the australian ones are incredibly ugly. As for fatigue, it is a shitty thing and you end up feeling so CHEATED when you finally find some energy and you have to use it all up on boring stuff like doing the dishes or washing your hair. I have developed an addiction to audiobooks – they help during the times when I’m too shattered to physically hold a book or feeling too ill to do anything but lie in bed in the dark.

    I had borderline traits, apparently, but thinking about it makes me quite irritated because I think mental health professionals should at least have the courtesy to wait until you’re not a teenager before flinging that diagnosis around. Or at least wait until you’re not in an abusive relationship. as that might help SETTLE THINGS DOWN. Still fuming about that one.

    I will try & get the radio thing to work on my computer.

  3. Why do you have to be a teenager to have bpd? I think the reason bpd has such a stigma attached to it is because it is a gender specific diagnosis and an excuse not to treat someone. i wrote this not this. And an abusive relationship? Talk about blame the victim.

  4. I’ve always wanted a houseboat… Just need to scrape together 50K… Hmmmmm…..

    Maybe if I spent less on prescriptions?!?

  5. Louise, I didn’t say that you have to be a teenager to have BPD? Most of the people I know with it are in their late twenties to thirties.

What say you? Comment here!

