BBC Radio 4, 2.15pm, 8th May; Dos and Don’ts for the Mentally Interesting…

Thought I’d write about this now as it’s being recorded next week.

“Dos and Don’ts for the Mentally Interesting” is the BBC Radio 4 play based on this blog that I’ve briefly mentioned before. 

It’s part of their afternoon plays, and is airing, as far as I know, on BBC Radio 4 (on radio, DAB and online), Friday 8th May at 2.15pm (for certain this time,  I kept getting the sodding date wrong).

What I also want to mention is that some parts of comments on this blog, by which I mean very few,  have been worked into the fabric of the play.   They absolutely respect the privacy of the commenter and have no identifying information whatsoever, no names etc.  Most people use pseudonyms anyway but it’s all been changed.   It is just quite general stuff, nothing detailed or personal.  They also date back from 2007 (the play is focused on a few months and stops well short of the past year) and in most cases, I don’t have working contact details because a lot of the people who commented then, and now, did so once or twice without leaving working e-mail addresses.

The reason I haven’t really talked about it before is because I haven’t had enough details to tell you, and although it was commissioned, due to my being overly cautious, I wasn’t certain it was actually going ahead and didn’t want to say anything until I was sure.  It’s being recorded next week, so it’s pretty much going ahead now!

If any of you want to ask questions about the comments or want clarification/are concerned, let me know, as I can give you the e-mail address of the development producer, and she asked that I do pass it on.

So, this is just me keeping you informed.  It hasn’t been recorded yet so I have absolutely no idea how it will turn out and it still feels a bit surreal.  I’ve read the script, which is partly my witterings shaped by the (excellent) writer, focused on the whole being mentally interesting stuff, but in a, y’know, sensitive and funny way.  And it features some great music.  Hurrah!

(And sorry for being largely absentee, there are still things going on here that are crap, that I need to deal with and that I don’t feel able to talk about.  I am stressed and sad and my head is firmly lodged up my hole at the moment.

JOY!  Still, ‘citing!)

23 Responses

  1. well I cant really believe any were mine, but if they were I would like to know

  2. Congratulations, Seaneen! Fame at last!😀

  3. Will that be available online too? I don’t live in UK… so no BBC radio for me.

  4. Hi, new here, loving it.. xxx

  5. How exciting. Ive put the date in my diary and all so I cant forget. Hannah X

  6. As good ideas for radio go I would have to place it slightly behind Ross and Brant deciding to telephone Manuel.
    Its so crazy it might just work , and I hope it goes well for you.

  7. I’ll look forward to it Seaneen. Keep safe, D

  8. I wonder if any of my comments have been used, I started following your blog a few months after you started it, but have gone through many differen usernames and email addresses (due to paranoid delusions). Hmm. Actually, it doesn’t matter, as long as my comments havent been annoying, that’s a win for me.

    And once again CONGRATS! See, tons of people have said over the years that you’re a good writer, and you’re once again having your work published. I hope that even if things are bad at the moment, that this is something good you can focus on.

  9. Dammit, if I’d known there was an opportunity of getting worked into the script, I’d have left more comments on this blog!

    I’ll look forward to hearing the play Seaneen.

  10. You are definately going to have to suss out a way for forriners to listen, because as a concept it’s highly intriguing. But you becomin’ famous is hardly a shock… it had to happen…

    x

  11. Looking forward to it, hope they do a good production job.

  12. That’s so cool. I’ll definitely be listening.

    Take care,
    Differently

  13. You should be able to listen live online, or for up to 7 days later on iPlayer wherever you are in the world.

  14. I’ll be tuning in too! How exciting! Congratulations. Good luck with sorting the stress. I also have my head up my hole – I’ll send you a postcard! x

  15. I will definitely be tuning in.🙂

  16. Looking forward to it!

    Here’s to having my head up my hole also…..its kinda dark in here

    x x x x

  17. […] and Don’ts for the Mentally Interesting is due to air on Radio 4 on Friday 8th May at 2.15pm. Seaneen’s blog makes regular appearances in This Week […]

  18. I’m so looking forward to it… congrats!

  19. It’s interesting to see just how pervasive digital memory has become in our everyday lives. It’s like everywhere I turn, I see something with a card slot or USB port, lol. I guess it makes sense though, considering how inexpensive memory has become lately…Gahhhh, who am I to complain. I can’t get by a day without my R4 / R4i!(Posted by BB for R4i Nintendo DS.)

  20. I will definitely be tuning in! Cant wait to see this…

What say you? Comment here!

